Sunday 11.15 Holy Eucharist
Family service, first Sunday in the month with coffee and biscuits after the service.
Wednesday 9.30- 10 am
Holy Eucharist – no hymns
The parish of Llancarfan is part of the Vale Group of churches
Our Priest in Charge is Canon Derek Belcher, The Rectory, Llancarfan
For enquiries, please call
Sue Taylor on 01446 781453
or complete the form at the foot of this page to email.
The Parish of
St Cadoc's Llancarfan
The church of St. Cadoc at Llancarfan [CF623AD] is the focus of this small and charming village in the heart of Vale of Glamorgan. The village sits 15 miles from Cardiff, ten minutes from the mighty Severn, and 7 miles from the fruitful market town of Cowbridge.
The church is open to visitors between 9am and 5pm 365 days year. Individual and group visits are most welcome.
Like the church's bells, its pastoral call echoes well beyond the ears of regular worshippers, and villagers take a pride in their church's beauty and antiquity. Just as they defended their local hostelry - the Fox & Hounds - by a village 'buy out' when it was threatened, so villagers cherish the history & continuity of a church that continues to reveal cultural secrets, hidden for centuries.
Where the Christian faith has been practised for 1500 years
The Vale of Glamorgan was an important centre of Christianity in Britain. There was a monastery here from at least 650 AD, founded by St. Cadoc or Cadog. By the 9th century Llancarfan was a flourishing centre of learning, with the main monastic buildings just south of today's church, in Culvery Fields.
Despite destruction by the Danes, Llancarfan monastery proved 'the most powerful ecclesiastical community in Glamorgan'. It did not, however, survive the Norman invasion, and after this early dissolution, responsibility passed to the Abbey of St. Peter's, Gloucester. St. Cadoc retained his presence in the parish church, where our simple chancel arch suggests a foundation of about 1200.
The next 800 years have seen our distinctively-shaped church serving its community, and surviving the traumas of reformation and restoration. A Baptist and a Wesleyan Methodist Chapel nearby have come and gone, but St. Cadoc's continues to refocus its role across the parish, reaching out to share its cultural and spiritual relevance to visitors, villagers, and all who treasure the heritage that shaped our history.
St Cadoc's Church
Welcome visitors! You will find an ever-growing wealth of things to do during a trip to St. Cadoc's, the historical Llancarfan valley, and the blissful Vale of Glamorgan. Sponsorship from benevolent donors, and significant funding from the Heritage Lottery Fund and Cadw, is enabling the church's re-discovery, conservation & interpretation of lost - or misunderstood - cultural treasures.
Visit our "Murals and Carvings" page to explore the re-emerging late 15th century wall-paintings that the Reformation banished, hopefully among the most important in Wales, and our remarkable wood carvings.
Our historic murals and woodcarvings are unique and well worth a vistit in their own right. Read more by clicking the link below.
Genealogists may wish to unravel the family histories embedded in our tombstones, the earliest readable date being '1602'. The Glamorgan Family History Society has published invaluable monumental transcripts, and also our parish registers, covering dates ranging from 1619 to 1900. Details are on their website.
This being the Vale of the Saints, accessible from the Severn shore to all comers, from Normans to Vikings to migrant Devonians and Cornish Celts, our Welsh landscape is rich with historical heritage. Follow some of the trails to its churches, castles, headlands and even pubs - and discover a Vale shaped to perfection by its histories.